Historical facts about WSOP Global Casino Championship

Historical facts about WSOP Global Casino Championship

The 2020 World Series of Poker (WSOP) was one of the massive events that had to be postponed or cancelled because of the COVID-19 pandemic. This global annual casino championship was rescheduled to take place on the 11-13 of August 20120 at Harrah's Cherokee in North Carolina.


The WSOP global casino championship has had many great seasons since it was first launched in 2005.


History of the World Series of Poker

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the current season of the WSOP Circuit was cut short. Nevertheless its history shows that it has had many great seasons. It was in 2005 that the WSOP Circuit was first launched with the mission to spread the magic of the summer series far and wide. During its existence the WSOPC has expanded across the globe with the WSOP International Circuit.

To reflect on all the action that took place during the event over the years in 2011 a season ending WSOP national championship was organized at Caesars Palace. The tournament was open to 100 WSOPC qualifiers. There was a $1,000,000 prize pool to be won. The lucky winner was Sam Barnhart from Arkansas.

In 2012 the National Championship took place in Rio. This year the terms and conditions were changed. The top 100 players in the WSOP World rankings were given the chance to participate if they were willing to pay the $10,000 buy-in. The lucky winner of the bracelet became Ryan Eriquezzo. He qualified winning the 2012 WSOP Circuit Caesars Atlantic City Main Event. From the 2012 tournament he took home the top prize of $416,051.


Big Winners through the years

Sponsored by Southern Comfort 100, the 2012-13 season of the event moved to Harrah’s New Orleans and happened in May, together with the final stop of the WSOPC season. From the 127 runners Jonathan Hilton managed to beat Max Steinberg. Hilton won the bracelet as well as the $355,599 first place prize.

The 2014 National Championship was moved to Bally’s Casino Atlantic City. It was outdoors on the famous Boardwal where the final table was held. This time the German pro player Dominik Nitsche was the winner among the 126 players who had paid the $10,000 buy-in. Dominik Nitsche won his second gold bracelet and the $352,800 first place prize.

122 players took part in the 2015 annual National Championship. The event took place at Harrah's Cherokee, North Caroline. This year Loni Harwood became the winner. She paid the buy-in and managed to win the heads-up play battle with  Alex Masek and grabbing her second bracelet.

A few changes were made in 2016. This year the event was rebranded and became known as the Global Casino Championship. The international circuit was introduced and players from across the world were entitled to qualify for the annual championship. The Global Casino Championship took place at Harrah’s Cherokee. The player named El-Yousfi from Mexico became the winner. Yousfi qualified after being crowned the Casino Champ at Casino de Marrakech. He became the first Casino Championship qualifier to win the title. El-Yousfi won the gold bracelet and the $343,256 first prize by topping the 126 player field. 

The 2017 Global Casino Championship took place at Harrah’s Cherokee where the player Sean Yu managed to come out on top as a poker pro. He won the prize of $296,941 by topping  the 124 player field. After being lucky to win this championship Yu's fairy tale story continued. The poker expert also won a $1,100 Main Event at Commerce for $209,030. A week later Yu won a WSOPC gold ring at Thunder Valley Casino.

It was again at Harrah’s Cherokee that the 2018 Global Casino Championship took place. Warren Sheaves managed to beat the player field of 127 participants. By climbing to the top of the battle he was awarded by a bracelet and the $282,113 top prize. After ranging on the 10th place of the year’s points leader board Sheaves qualified for the event.

It will be good to be noted that by 2018 the Circuit has expanded with wide dimensions. From 12 Circuit stops in the USA it developed to 39 stops in 11 other countries.

In 2019 the Championship had 129 players. Ryan Eriquezzo who was the champion from 2012 won once again the first place and the top prize of $279,431. The second championship title was won by Eric Salazar.

All of you who prefer playing poker, check out our best online casinos

Edward Griffin


Edward Griffin

Hey I'm Edward Griffin, one of the people behind dbestcasino.com. I have been living, playing and working in the online casino world for the past 15 years. I am here to help you make the most informed decisions in your online casino experience.

Latest Casino News

Aug 23, 2023
For those who are in Canada, it may be interesting to learn more about the biggest casino winners in the country. Join us as we look at lucky players who have found themselves on a…
Jul 31, 2023
“I can't believe it!” was the first reaction of the happily surprised Finnish casino player when she found out she had won the incredible amount of €230,610 cashed out by The Megaways Gonzo…
Jun 20, 2023
You love to travel. You want to visit great places. Going on holidays has never been a stress-free activity. Pack your luggage and arrive at the airport on time, then navigate your way…
May 20, 2023
Reporting big wins is our favorite topic of writing. Here we are today again to tell you about a huge win - a dream. Not a dream, but a real explosion!Relax Gaming and its Money Train 2…
Apr 24, 2023
A fortunate player at BitStarz Casino had the rare opportunity of winning a huge payout while playing a new online slot game. The game in question is Piggy Bjorn 2 - Winter is Coming by…
Mar 25, 2023
Countries around the world have different attitudes towards gambling and are building their own measures when it comes to its legality. Some countries, such as the United Kingdom, have very…
Feb 24, 2023
For millions of people around the world, the casino is a place to spend a lot of free time having fun. The feeling of playing in an online casino site is different compared to playing in a…
Jan 22, 2023
The sporting events that are back online will facilitate the process of getting involved in fantasy sports betting. Sports fans get the perfect opportunity to get involved in the action, to…